It is well known that safety is of utmost importance to the lumber and building material industry, and NLBMDA believes that companies that exhibit a strong dedication to workplace safety deserve to be recognized. We are proud to announce the winners of our second annual Safety Awards. These two awards, the National Achievement in Safety Award and the National Industry Leader in Safety Award, are given to companies that set the standard in safety and best practices for the industry.

NLBMDA congratulates the winners of the 2006 National Industry Leader in Safety Award: United Building Centers / St. Cloud, Minn.,

North Pacific / Indianapolis. The winners of this prestigious award were selected by a committee of industry professionals for having exceptional workplace safety records as well as demonstrating an overall safety culture.

NLBMDA also is pleased to announce the winners of the National Achievement in Safety Awards. This award is presented to those companies meeting a set of specific criteria, including below industry averages on incidents of injury and illness (IRI); days missed from work, restricted work activity, or job transfer rate (DART); and days away from work rate (DAFWII). The winners must also have had no workplace deaths or OSHA citations in 2005. These companies are some of the best in the industry. Congratulations to: Alamo Lumber Co. / Freer, Texas / Beeville, Texas / Carrizo Springs, Texas / Eagle Pass, Texas

Hammond Lumber Co. / Fairfield, Maine

Hancock Lumber Co. / Windham, Maine / Casco, Maine / Sanford, Maine / Yarmouth, Maine / Pittsfield, Maine / Bridgton, Maine / Brunswick, Maine / Damariscotta, Maine

J.S. Purcell Lumber Corp. / Louisa, Va.

Lumbermens / Vancouver, Wash. / Othello, Wash. / Sequim, Wash. / Show Low, Ariz. / Lake Havasu, Ariz. / Flagstaff, Ariz. Sedona, Ariz.

Millard Lumber / Omaha, Neb.

North Pacific / Indianapolis

Russell Do-It Center / Prattville, Ala. Millbrook, Ala.

Sandford & Hawley / Unionville, Conn. / West Springfield, Mass.

Spenard Builders Supply / Kodiak, Alaska / Kenai, Alaska / Soldotna, Alaska / Homer, Alaska / Barrow, Alaska / Big Lake, Alaska / Anchorage, Alaska / Tacoma, Wash.

United Building Centers / St. Cloud, Minn. / Garden City, Minn.

Wehrung's Lumber & Home Center / Ottsville, Pa.

All award winners received a customized plaque in recognition of their achievement. For more information on how you can apply for these awards next year, contact Laura Levitan at [email protected] or at 800.634.8645. We look forward to receiving your application!