It was with fervor and enthusiasm that NLBMDA's 2006–2007 chair, Steve Kelly, was elected in October at the 2006 Industry Summit in Scottsdale, Ariz. Kelly, president and owner of Kelly Bros. Lumber in Covington, Ky., first participated in NLBMDA in 1992 when he attended his first Legislative Conference in Washington. Since then, he has made a name for himself among lumber dealers and the national association—first as a supporter of the organization and its efforts and later as a vital member of the NLBMDA Executive Committee.

“I couldn't be happier to have such a dedicated and well-respected member of the association be our leader for the 2006–2007 term,” said NLBMDA president Shawn Conrad. “I look forward to working with Steve on expanding NLBMDA's value to our members. It is going to be a great year under another great leader.”

Kelly has already outlined his goals for the new year, which include:

  • Work closely with the Government Affairs Committee on the reintroduction of the Innocent Sellers Fairness Act (ISFA) in the House and its introduction in the Senate.
  • Garner more congressional support and co-sponsors for ISFA as well as increase fund-raising efforts.
  • Increase dealer participation at the Legislative Conference—the association's key event for support on Capitol Hill.
  • Work on expanding the new LBM Institute and carrying out its goals of providing industry research, safety programs, and employee education.
  • Increase dealer participation in NLBMDA—and their voice on Capitol Hill and around the country.

In addition to electing NLBMDA's chair, NLBMDA is pleased to welcome its new 2006–2007 Board of Directors: Harold Baalmann / Chair-Elect / B & B Lumber Co. / Wichita, Kan.

Kevin Hancock / Immediate Past Chair / Hancock Lumber Co. / Casco, Maine

Paul Hylbert / Vice Chair / Pro-Build Holdings, /Redmond, Wash.

Paul Forslund / Treasurer / Forslund Building Supply / Ironwood, Mich.

Shawn Conrad / President / NLBMDA/

Quent Ondricek / MSC Chair / Do it Best Corp. / Ft. Wayne, Ind.

Daniel Welty / GAC Chair / Jones-Berry Lumber Co. / Amboy, Ill.

Casey Voorhees / BMAE Chair / Western Building Material Association / Olympia, Wash.

Matt Petersen / At-Large Director / Mead Clark Lumber / Santa Rosa, Calif.

Dan Fesler / At-Large Director / Lamperts / St. Paul, Minn.

Bob Magbee / At-Large Director / Magbee Contractors Supply / Winder, Ga.

Bill VanSant / At-Large Director / Oklahoma Home Centers / Guthrie, Okla.

John Somerville / MSC Vice Chair / Dow Chemical Co. / Midland, Mich.

Ed Van Meter / BSAWV / Central Tie & Lumber Co. / Petersburg, W.Va.

Jay Short / CSA / Short & Paulks Supply / Tifton, Ga.

Alta Miller / EBMDA / Peachey Builders / Bellerville, Pa.

Judge Nottingham / FBMA / Carolina Lumber Co. / Jacksonville, Fla.

Sarah Brian / ILMDA / Brian Lumber Co. / Bridgeport, Ill.

Joseph R. Collings / ILBSA / Ferguson Lumber Corp. / Rockville, Ind.

Ronald C. Goode / KBMA / Cole Lumber Co. / Paducah, Ky.

J.D. Saunders / LACN / Economy Lumber / Campbell, Calif.

Cally Fromme / LAT / Zarsky Lumber Co. / Victoria, Texas

John Bolt / MLBMA / DeLeeuw Lumber Co. / Holland, Mich.

Woodrow Acord / MLA / Acord's Home Center / Eureka Springs, Ark.

Scott Yates / MSLBMDA / Denver Lumber Co. / Denver

Bryan Jaeger / NJLDA / Jaeger Lumber / Union, N.J.

Linda Nussbaum / NRLA / Kleet Lumber Co. / Huntington, N.Y.

Stuart Campbell / NLA / Campbell's Town & Country Building Supply / Aberdeen, S.D.

James W. Haddox / OCSA / McComb Lumber Co. / McComb, Ohio

Jerry Hetherington / OLA / Sallisaw Lumber Co. / Sallisaw, Okla.

Gene McKinney / SBMA / Tindell's / Knoxville, Tenn.

Ken Marson / WBMA / Marson & Marson Lumber Co. / Leavenworth, Wash.

Bob Barth / WRLA / Sav-Rite Building Center / Neillsville, Wis.

NLBMDA The National Lumber and Building Material Dealers Association represents more than 8,000 lumber and building material companies with more than 400,000 employees, 20 state and regional associations, and the industry's leading manufacturers and service providers. NLBMDA is the voice of America's building suppliers.