Kodiak Building Partners appointed Stephen West as Zarsky Lumber Company’s new president. West will begin the role immediately, with transition support from current Zarsky co-presidents Phillip Steffy and Steve Weaver before their retirement.

“We are very excited to have Stephen at Zarsky,” Steffy said in a prepared statement. “His strong leadership abilities and strategic planning will ensure that Zarsky continues to serve contractors and homeowners throughout Texas.”

West brings years of management experience to the Texas-based lumber and building materials company. The new president has served at the district management level for the past 30 years, most recently serving as the district manager of Safelite AutoGlass.

“After thorough succession planning and a comprehensive search process, the company is pleased to have found the best individual to assume leadership of our organization,” Weaver said. “Stephen has a track record of strong leadership both inside and outside of the lumber and building materials industry. This combined with his deep industry knowledge and tenure makes Stephen uniquely qualified to lead Zarsky successfully into the future.”

West has also previously served as the district manager and market director at Lowe’s.

“Stephen is the best choice from a deep pool of interest and highly qualified candidates,” Pat Flood, executive vice president of operations for Kodiak Building Partners, said in a prepared statement. “He has been a successful director in his previous positions. Even more important, he is a great fit with both Kodiak and Zarsky’s cultures: he values community, family, and service. We’re delighted that he has accepted this position.”

Zarsky Lumber Company was founded in 1928 and operates locations in Corpus Christi, Kingsville, Laredo, Los Gresons, McAllen, Port Aransas, and Victoria across the state of Texas. The company was acquired by Kodiak Building Partners in 2015.

Highland Ranch, Co.-based Kodiak Building Partners operates over 100 locations across Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Carolina, Oregon, Texas, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.