If your company invests time, money, and resources into improving safety in the workplace, then you are already well aware of the large return on investment in terms of morale, productivity, and efficiency. This year NLBMDA and its members went a step further by publicly recognizing dealers for their outstanding efforts in safety. NLBMDA's first annual National Achievement in Safety and National Leader in Safety awards were designed to set a high standard of safety best practices and accomplishments for the industry.

NLBMDA is pleased to announce the co-winners of the 2005 National Industry Leader in Safety Award. A committee of industry safety professionals selected the recipients from a well-qualified pool of applicants. Congratulations to: Gregory Supply Co. / Ray Brook, N.Y.

Spenard Builders Supply / Kodiak, Alaska

These two companies met very high safety criteria and demonstrated their exceptional commitment to safety. Both were selected as examples of industry excellence in creating and enhancing an overall safety culture. Look for the companies' insights on improving safety in a lumberyard in the February 2006 issue of PROSALES.

NLBMDA also is pleased to announce the winners of the 2005 National Achievement in Safety Award. All recipients of this award achieved a set of specific objective criteria in several areas of safety, including a below-industry-average injury and illness incidence rate (IRI); days away from work, restricted work activity, or job transfer rate (DART); and days away from work rate (DAFWII). The winners also operated under several minimum safety practices. The winners represent some of the best examples of safety in the industry. Congratulations to: Alamo Lumber Co. / Hebbronville, Texas / Bay City, Texas / Beeville, Texas / Cuero, Texas / Eagle Pass, Texas / El Campo, Texas

Builders FirstSource / Aberdeen, N.C. / Anderson, S.C. / Asheboro, N.C. / Beaufort, S.C. / Blythewood, S.C. / Goose Creek, S.C. / Greenville, S.C. / Hilton Head, S.C. / La Grange, Ga. / Little River, S.C. / Morristown, Tenn. / Pawleys Island, S.C. / Washington, N.C.

Cozart Lumber and Supply Co. / Rocknell, N.C.

Curtis Lumber Co. / Delmar, N.Y. / Hoosick Falls, N.Y. / Schroon Lake, N.Y.

Eclectic Do-It Center / Eclectic, Ala.

Hancock Lumber Co. / Bethel, Maine / Casco, Maine / Pittsfield, Maine / Sanford, Maine / South Paris, Maine / Yarmouth, Maine

Millbrook Do-It Express / Millbrook, Ala.

North American Lumber Co. (Division of Mentor Lumber and Supply Cos.) / Bedford Heights, Ohio

Spenard Builders Supply (Division of Lanoga Corp.) / Barrow, Alaska / Palmer, Alaska / Seward, Alaska

Tindell's Commodity Center / Knoxville, Tenn.

Tindell's / Knoxville, Tenn.

Wehrung's Lumber and Home Center / Ottsville, Pa.

All award winners received a plaque and customized press release recognizing their accomplishments. If your company is making exceptional strides in safety, NLBMDA encourages you to apply for the awards next year. For applications and more information, contact NLBMDA at 800.634.8645.